Spring is here!

Coming to Sweden during Spring semester was definitely a great idea. Students who usually come during Fall semester will arrive to a nice weather, long days, great atmosphere; but everything will gradually change to the worst as the days get shorter and colder. However, in the spring I arrived to a cold and dark country but each day that passed, things got unexpectedly better! It was a surprise for me to walk on a sunny day by the same streets I’ve walked down all these months and notice how people had a spark on their eyes and everyone was smiling just because it was such a nice day!  7 out of 12 months is usually cold in Sweden, since Swedish don’t normally have sunny days, they really know how to make the most out of a nice day. Trust me, people here really know how to enjoy a beautiful day and you will feel like it is an entire different country when is warm and sunny. Living in Florida makes you take for granted a sunny day, I’ve definitely learned to appreciate one sunny day in Sweden. I would go to the town, have FIKA with my friends, walk aroud the lake or do some shopping in the town but I will always be outside!

I noticed how coffee shops would take their chairs out to make it look like a more welcoming environment, thing you couldn’t do before because of the snow. The pier opened….I didn’t even know the city had a pier!! Then the boats would arrive by the pier and all the restaurants and bars that were on the pier opened. Very expensive restaurants, definitely not targeted college budget lol but my friends and I still went just because it was almost the end of our exchange semester and we wanted to enjoy the experience.

View from my window

View from my window

